Nominations for University of Sunderland students at Sparkie Awards

Written by on 28th June 2023

University 0f Sunderland students have been recognised for their work at the The Sparkie Awards.

The Sparkie Awards celebrate student success, recognising the efforts and achievements of undergraduates and postgraduates across the media area at the University, featuring a range of categories, including audio, TV, film, post-production and sustainability.

The nominees are:

Best Audio Documentary
Amy Ternent – ‘A Day in the Past’
Peter Doherty – ‘The Process’
Harry Days, Ryan Fletcher, Liam O’Brien – ‘The Black Cats Comeback’

Best Audio Drama
Ivan A. Flores – ‘Road Tripper: The Post-Modern Prometheus’
Catherine Rimmer Cláudia Sousa, Joseph Leak, Leila Elkhalili, – ‘Mortician’
Fiachna O’Brien, Louisa Travers, Chloe Browne, Macy Midgley – ‘Her Choice’

Best Podcast
Chris Howard – ‘Into the Industry’
Dom Brown & Sean-Michael Guipka – ‘Spark Reunited’
Bobbi Bunker – ‘NorthernHers’

Best Live TV
NE Music FMP102
On the Tee TEL201
Trial to Survive MAC303

Best Sound Design
Jacob Mistela / or Miguel
Mark Stiles

Best Visual Effects (sponsored by IG Media)
Jack Watson
Pablo Liberos
Lucy Wells

Best Editing
Thank You Final Fantasy VII
Mortgage Warriors

Best Scriptwriter
Graeme Costello
Owen Dutton
Reese Harris, Cameron Mair

Best Cinematography
Ellie Coulson
Matthew Collins
Jade Wong

Best Director
Morgan Williams
Cameron Mair
Dylan Dury

Best Branded Content (sponsored by Media Savey)
Diego’s Joint
Run Razor
Team Sunderland

Best Factual (sponsored by Fulwell 73)
From War to Wearside
Thank You, Final Fantasy VII

Best Non-Factual (sponsored by Fulwell 73)
Morgan Williams
Cameron Mair
Owen Dutton

Best Entertainment (sponsored by Twenty Six 03)
Show Me The Money
‘Pocketchange Games’

EDI Production Award (sponsored by UoS)
Megan Percival – ‘OnlyTrans’
Bobbi Bunker – ‘NorthernHers’
Chelsea Ogbo, Jeffrey Andelin, Timothy Vaskov – ‘The Ghost of Nweke’

Best Newcomer
Graeme Costello
Kim Hoen
Maise Macfarlane

Best Overall Production (sponsored by All3media international)
Thank You, Final Fantasy VII – Mark Stiles
Morgan Williams
‘The Process’ – Peter Doherty

The Sparkies will take place on Monday, July 10, where the winners will be announced.

Current track