Sunderland AFC’s fixtures have been released for the new season

Written by on 21st June 2018

Jack Ross’ Sunderland will kick-off their 2018-19 Sky Bet League One campaign against Charlton Athletic at the Stadium of Light.

The first fixture has been selected for television broadcast and will be played on Saturday 4 August at 12.30pm at the Stadium of Light.

Charlton finished sixth in League One last term before being dealt play-off heartache when they lost out to Shrewsbury Town over the two-leg semi-final.

Following the lads’ season opener on home soil, an away trip to Luton Town is next on the list a week later.

Sunderland’s Carabao Cup tie with Sheffield Wednesday has been moved to Thursday 16 August (kick-off time remains the same) before the lad’s welcome Scunthorpe United two days later.

The festive period has served up a home double header with Ross’ side welcoming Bradford City to Wearside on Boxing Day before Shrewsbury Town provide the lads with their last test in 2018.

Sunderland will begin 2019 away at Blackpool before rounding off the campaign on Saturday 4 May at Southend United, kick-off 5.30pm.



Sat Aug 4 Charlton Athletic (H)

Sat Aug 11 Luton Town (A)

Thu Aug 16 Sheffield Wednesday (Cup – H)

Sat Aug 18 Scunthorpe United (H)

Tue Aug 21 Gillingham (A)

Sat Aug 25 AFC Wimbledon (A)


Sat Sep 1 Oxford United (H)

Sat Sep 8 Fleetwood Town (H)

Sat Sep 15 Burton Albion (A)

Sat Sep 22 Rochdale (H)

Sat Sep 29 Coventry City (A)


Tue Oct 2 Peterborough United (H)

Sat Oct 6 Bradford City (A)

Sat Oct 13 Blackpool (H)

Sat Oct 20 Shrewsbury Town (A)

Tue Oct 23 Doncaster Rovers (A)

Sat Oct 27 Southend United (H)


Sat Nov 3 Plymouth Argyle (A)

Sat Nov 17 Wycombe Wanderers (H)

Sat Nov 24 Walsall (A)

Tue Nov 27 Barnsley (H)


Sat Dec 8 Accrington Stanley (A)

Sat Dec 15 Bristol Rovers (H)

Sat Dec 22 Portsmouth (A)

Wed Dec 26 Bradford City H

Sat Dec 29 Shrewsbury Town (H)


Tue Jan 1 Blackpool (A)

Sat Jan 5 Charlton Athletic (A) 

Sat Jan 12 Luton Town (H)

Sat Jan 19 Scunthorpe United (A)

Sat Jan 26 Gillingham (H)


Sat Feb 2 AFC Wimbledon (H)

Sat Feb 9 Oxford United (A)

Sat Feb 16 Accrington Stanley (H) 

Sat Feb 23 Bristol Rovers (A)


Sat Mar 2 Plymouth Argyle (H)

Sat Mar 9 Wycombe Wanderers (A)

Tue Mar 12 Barnsley (A)

Sat Mar 16 Walsall (H) 

Sat Mar 23 Fleetwood Town (A) 

Sat Mar 30 Burton Albion (H)


Sat Apr 6 Rochdale (A) 

Sat Apr 13 Coventry City (H)

Fri Apr 19 Doncaster Rovers (H)

Mon Apr 22 Peterborough United (A)

Sat Apr 27 Portsmouth (H)


Sat May 4 Southend United (A)

Current track