Sunderland SU announce Executive Team Changes

Written by on 6th February 2018

The University of Sunderland’s Student Union have revealed changes to the Executive Team of Sabbatical Officers for the upcoming academic year 2018/2019. 

As it stand currently five officers are elected to the Students Union each year – four Vice-Presidents and an overall President with each have varying responsibilities.

The roles are currently as follows:

  • Vice-President of Wellbeing & Engagement (currently Tosan Velor)
  • Vice-President of Community & Events (currently Helena Pascenko)
  • Vice-President of Education (currently Kevin Slight)
  • Vice-President of Sports & Societies (currently Denote Jam)
  • President of The Students Union (currently unfilled)

However the role of President has been left unfilled since Harry Chrinside left the role after already being elected.

Now the SU have announced on their website that the sabbatical roles have been reduced from 5 roles down to 3 after research and consultation with students at the University of Sunderland.

The new SU Sabbatical Officer roles will be:

  • President: Education
  • President: Wellbeing
  • President: Activities

The Exec is made up of 9 Officers overall, with six voluntary non-sabbatical roles available, including Chair of the Union council who will be elected at the same time as the three Presidents.

Students can put themselves forward for a role ahead of the election, with nominations open from 9am yesterday (5th February) to 5pm on 18th February (next Sunday)

Voting will then open from 9am on Tuesday 6th March and will close at 5pm on Tuesday 13th March and all student at the University of Sunderland are eligible to vote.

Voting is done using the single transferable voting system where voters rank the candidates in order of preference, including the option of no suitable candidate.

Results will be announced at a special Elections Results event, organised by Events Management students at the University, at the Quayside Exchange on 16th March, hosted by Spark’s Adam Wood.

Current track